So far, the vegan challenge hasn’t been too challenging for me. I’m not really following the “30 Day Vegan Challenge” book, although a friend lent it to me (good recipes in there!). I’m just doing what I can to eat a clean, vegan diet for the next 30 days.  That said, today, I ate dirty. 

I ate real dirty.

Last night, I came home from work and did a 4-mile run. It was really cold, and it started to snow as I made my way home, but I was so excited that my hip was okay I just couldn’t stop. Once I made it back inside, though, and the exhileration of the run wore off, I was WIPED OUT! Like, couldn’t-drag-my-sorry-butt-to-the-store-to-buy-that-brick-of-brie-I’d-been-dreaming-about wiped out. So, instead of doing a swan dive into a creamy, cheesy slice of heaven, I spent my last meal as a non-vegan eating…vegan food. Yep. Do I get a Lame-o Prize?? 

I needed something quick that I could make with stuff I already had. I picked the easiest, simplest recipe that I could think of:  Mujaddara.  Rice + Lentils + Caramelized Onions = DONE! I threw some cumin, sea salt and ground pepper into the rice and lentil mixture to give it some kick, but the star of this show is really the onions.  FOR REALS, YO. Sweet, savory, warm, and best of all: done in about 30 minutes.  BEHOLD:

Image

 

Today, I had my usual breakfast of oatmeal + ‘nana and the leftovers of last night’s meal for lunch.  After work, I went to my local health food store to pick up some vegan staples – stuff that I see over and over in vegan recipes (which I usually pass on making because I don’t have).  It was hard to get in and out of that place and not spend a million bucks. Just walking in there is enough to give any vegetarian a food boner. TONS of stuff – Kale Chips! Trail Mixes! EVERY SUPERFOOD EVER INVENTED BY WHOMEVER INVENTS SUPERFOODS!! But, I was good. I only bought this stuff:

Image

 

And also some Yerba Mate endurance tea for my run tomorrow because a girl’s got to treat herself, y’all! Those are: Split green peas (who’s making some Indian dal this week?? ME!), red lentils (again with the dal), millet (because let’s experiment with grains!), nutritional yeast (in tons of vegan recipes), Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar (which I think will give me superhuman powers, according to the way vegans rave about the stuff), and more Veganaise (which I eat anyway because of the egg thing, I was just out of it).

Oh, right. Dirty! I got home and ate some bread (vegan bread!!) lathered with a faux-healthy peanut butter situation (I think it had granola in it? But I checked the label, it’s vegan. Definitely not healthy or “clean”, but vegan).  All in all, not a bad start!

