I know it’s not a good idea to run before my hip injury is fully recovered. It’s more a matter of degree – just how bad of an idea is it? I’ll find out tomorrow. I got home from work and ran 5.3 miles!

Back when I first started running, I was afraid to run outside. Once I got off the treadmill, though, I can’t imagine going back. I did 5 miles on the treadmill last Saturday because it was too snowy to run outside.  That last mile nearly killed me.  Today, though, I zipped right through it! I could have gone further, even!

Tonight I tried a recipe I have been VERY excited about. In New York, one of my favorite lunch places is Hummus Kitchen. They have great hummus – so fresh that sometimes it’s still warm. One time I decided to mix it up and tried their “Super Healthy Salad”. It. Was. Amazing. I really miss it, so I decided to try to replicate it.  It’s pretty simple:

Quinoa

Sweet potato

Dried cranberries and apricots

Walnuts

I didn’t have any apricots, but it was fine.  It was better than fine, actually. It was fan-freaking-tasitc. The dressing is the crucial ingredient.  After scouring the web, I found a great recipe for it here.  I made it vegan by replacing the regular yogurt with vegan yogurt. Also, instead of the honey/almond butter combo, I threw in some tahini.  I ended up adding some olive oil as well, because it just wasn’t blending (VitaMix owners, insert superior smirk here).  I would have taken a pretty glamour photo-Instagram snap of it, but I was too busy shoveling it into my face. Sorry!

I DID run into a bit of an obstacle on the ole Vegan Challenge today. I went to a lunch meeting at work.  I picked out my veggie sandwich and plucked off the cheese like a good vegan.  About halfway though, I noticed it had what appeared to be mayonnaise on it. 😦   In that moment, I had to made a choice:  Either make a big deal out of it, or live with it.  I chose to live with it.  In general, I take this route in my usual vegetarian life as well. Sometimes, stuff is made with eggs. Sometimes, without thinking, I eat this stuff. It happens. I get over it. Absolute perfection isn’t possible, and striving for it is an invitation for frustration.

Another observation about this challenge is the Eating Out Thing. I go out to dinner once or twice a week. It hasn’t been a problem for me so far, because I plan ahead. I check out the menu before I go and if there not something vegan (or something that can easily be made vegan without me being a huge pain in some chef’s a$$), I just eat beforehand. I should note, I learned this lesson the hard way. The last time I tried to go vegan, I went to a fancy pants fundraiser at the New York Public Library. There was virtually NOTHING I could eat all evening long. I ended up “dining” on red wine (which the servers refilled nonstop) and some green beans. Needless to say, I got VERY HAMMERED at this VERY UPPITY, proper event.  No bueno, kids! Nooo bueno!

Lessons for the day: Plan ahead! Don’t freak out if you accidentally eat mayo (unless you’re allergic, then definitely go ahead and freak out)! Make that delish salad with the amazing mint dressing!

