I have been burning the candle at both ends lately. I’ve been subbing a lot at the yoga studio, and my day job has been extra demanding. On top of this, I’m trying to do as much reading and writing as I can.

I learned an easy, very FUN shortcut for making my new favorite “candy” smoothie. These little life hacks cut off a minute of prep here and there, and also make you feel like a frickin’ genius (even though, if you’re like me, you read it on Buzzfeed or something but happily preach to every willing ear – “oh I saw this thing on the Internet, you have to try this!”).

Here’s the trick:
If you have a blender with a screw-off bottom (mine is a Hamilton Beach), you MIGHT be able to attach it to a wide-mouthed mason jar and make your smoothie right inside the jar!!! Even if you’ve heard this and do this every day, please just pretend to be impressed right now!! This blew me away! When I tried it the first time, I was (very) afraid that the Internet lied to me and I’d soon be picking glass shards out of the kitchen wall and maybe my face. Nope! The Internet came through, as it always does, with 100% accurate information (to my intense relief, let’s be honest, I was really expecting the glass shards).

Here’s my recipe and below that, photographic proof of this awesome life hack:
The “Candy” Smoothie
1 banana, cut into pieces and frozen
1 cup (ish) of coconut or almond milk
1 or 2 dates because I get the unsweetened almond milk
2 tablespoons of cacao nibs
Shake of cinnamon or nutmeg if I feel spicy
Scoop of almond butter if I want more protein
Sprinkle of chia seeds or flax seeds if I remember

Stuff it all into a mason jar, then screw in the blending attachment and hook it up to your blender (if you’re feeling brave! Also fine to regular blend; I may not be totally over the fear of this going horribly, horribly awry). Here’s how mine turned out:

20140217-181732.jpg

