That’s what the label on my new jar of “Aztec Secret” Indian Healing Clay (“The World’s Most Powerful Facial”) says. Sort of intense for a label, no? So while I decide if today is the day I experience this pulsating facial (seriously?! Could they have picked a word that maybe doesn’t conjure “Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom” flashbacks?), here’s a nice little recipe. If I don’t post again by next week, please send for help.

A while back, after I made The Loaf, I was rooting though my cabinets one afternoon in search of a snack. My search turned up some nuts, some dried fruit, and some leftover seeds from The Loaf experiment. In other words, nothing terribly exciting when regarded individually. However, together:

20140223-132309.jpg
Why, that’s granola!
I poked around the internet a bit for some recipe inspiration. My search turned up the following basic outline for a recipe:
Preheat oven to 250 or 300
2 cups (or thereabouts) of a base – I went the traditional route and used oats.
1/2 cup each of a couple different kinds of nuts – I had slivered almonds and cashews.
Additional fun items like a handful of coconut flakes, a tablespoon of flax or hemp seeds, you get the idea.
An oil – I used about a 1/4 cup of coconut oil, heated up.
A sweetener – I mixed about 1/4 cup maple syrup into the coconut oil. Also you can add vanilla extract into this if you like!
Some spices – I love cinnamon so I added about a tablespoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg. I’m interested in experimenting with this, though. I think cardamom, clove, ginger, even fennel could give this a unique kick.
A bit of salt
I baked this for about 30 minutes total at 300 degrees, stirring it halfway through. After I took it out, I added dried berries.
It turned out pretty awesome! It made enough to last me through the work week. This is a really forgiving recipe, and a fun way to use up leftovers from a baking spree!

20140226-193717.jpg

