Always up for a new “experiment”, I got excited when a friend of mine (who happens to be an extremely knowledgable and awesome wellness coach) offered to send me a sample of coffee and tea. On Facebook, she’d been posting about the wonders of mushrooms for quite some time. Sadly, mushrooms are one of those “vegetarian’s best friend” items that I just can’t get behind, taste-wise. However, I am always curious when someone I respect gets excited about something. She’s been really jazzed about the medicinal and healing properties of mushrooms for a while. I have to report, the coffee (I think it was part instant coffee and part mushroom powder, doesn’t sound very good but the taste was okay) was awesome! I drank a cup and I felt very alert, but in a very clean way (if that makes sense). Not jittery at all. I might be sold on this product:

20140311-212800.jpg
I’m interested in learning more about these magical mushrooms (not the “I’ve been following Phish since ’94, man” kind). Supposedly they are the next “big thing” on the wellness horizon. You heard it here first!

Another experiment I am conducting has to do with essential oils. Basically everyone at the yoga studio where I teach has been going on about these damn oils for months. I was extremely skeptical and hesitant, but I finally, tentatively, jumped on the bandwagon. I teach a restorative yoga class and I think I will be able to use some aromatherapy for some of my students who really struggle with stress and anxiety. I still have some doubts, but I will be sure to report back on my success or failure!

As the title of this blog would suggest, I am a born skeptic. Although I have an adventurous streak that leads me to try just about anything, I remain firmly planted in reality and sometimes wonder if I’ve gone off the deep end when I try these things (I get especially nervous when I catch a whiff of a pyramid scheme). The wellness world gets weird very quickly. I’m trying to stay out of the deep end, but the nature of teaching yoga lends itself naturally to homeopathic and holistic health. Lately I’ve been struggling to strike a balance. I’m off to Vancouver for vacation later this week, that should keep my inner scientist/skeptic busy for bit.

