My resolution for 2015 went way better than expected. It may have resulted in me neglecting my blog, but, I DID IT! I followed through on my vow to choose reading over Netflix. I’m a much better person for it, and plan to continue in 2016. 

For my fellow bibliophiles, here’s what I read:

The Road by Cormac McCarthy: Not an uplifting start to the year, but tremendous writing. 

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See: Excellent historical novel. Friendship is complicated, isn’t it?

Hunger Games trilogy: I’ve never read Harry Potter, and was skeptical of being taken in by some lame pop-culture phenomenon, but I really enjoyed this during a very long snowstorm.

The Fault in Our Stars: Bring your hanky. John Greene perfectly captures the tumultuous emotions of young love in this heart-breaking work of art.

Disturbing the Peace by Richard Yates: An intricate look into the rapidly decaying mind of a man perusing the “American Dream”. Riveting and disturbing, indeed.

Gone Girl: HATED IT. Hated all the characters; it was too long; cemented my distain for Ben Affleck forevermore.

NOS48TU by Joe Hill: Wow. Excellent storytelling. This is a spell-binding trip down the horror genre for those who dare.

The Martian: Great read! I was so excited to learn Ridley Scott had made this into a film, and was not disappointed by Matt Damon’s portrayal of the beloved Mark Watney at all.

Heart-Shaped Box (Joe Hill again): Another riveting tale from the son of Stephen King. I hear they are making this into a movie? He generally features very strong main characters (who he proceeds to put through absolute hell), creative story lines, and fast-paced action.

Finders Keepers (Stephen King): Interesting read from the King of Horror. I was not surprised to learn this was actually the second in a trilogy, but it held its own as an independent story.

World War Z: excellent read, nothing like the movie. Rather, a scientific post-mortem review of how the zombie apocalypse went down, as told by various worldwide players.

Tried and failed: The Manual of Detection (okay, kind of noir, but the storyline failed to pick up enough steam to hold my interest). Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintainance (I will get to this one day).

I started the new year by buying “All the Light We Cannot See”. This was an amazing book. Storytelling at its best. I highly recommend it.

And now, on to the next book!

